Georgia Real Estate License

Real Estate and Appraisal licenses are issued by the Georgia Real Estate Commission, www.grec.state.ga.us.

We have compliled a list of frequently asked questions regarding licensing, including eligibility, renewal, lapsed and reciprocity.

Important Update!

Effective January 1, 2012, the Georgia Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 requires all applicants for real estate licensure or appraiser classification, and those applying for renewal of an existing license or classification, Appraisal Management Companies, Instructors, and School Directors to submit to the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC): (1) a "secure and verifiable document" for identification purposes as defined in O.C.G.A. §50-36-2 and (2) a "signed and sworn affidavit verifying the applicant's lawful presence in the United States" as required in O.C.G.A. §50-36-1.

This form can be accessed from the commission's website: www.grec.state.ga.us/forms/reforms.html.

An individual applying for a real estate license or an appraiser classification by taking a state examination at an AMP Test Center will take this information with them to the Test Center on the day of their examination. The information will be submitted at the AMP Test Center as part of applying for the license after the exam is passed.

Getting a Real Estate License

I want to get a real estate license? Where do I start?

To qualify for a Georgia Salesperson real estate license, you first must:

  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Be a resident of Georgia, unless you want a non-resident license;
  • Be a high school graduate or hold a certification of equivalency;
  • Obtain a criminal history report from the Georgia Bureau of Investigation;
  • Provide a signed and sworn affidavit verifying your lawful presence in the U.S. and provide a secure and verifiable ID such as a driver's license, passport, or military ID;
  • Successfully complete an approved 75-hour Salesperson Prelicense course, either a classroom or online format;
  • Pass the state real estate exam.

Which format, the classroom or the online course, is better?

Both programs are effective and provide a solid foundation for passing the state exam. Some of the issues to evaluate include your learning style, whether or not your schedule allows you to attend a classroom course, if you are motivated and disciplined enough to do an online 75-hour course, and the importance to you of interaction with an instructor. An Educational Consultant is available to answer content questions for online students, however, you are expected to work primarily independently.

If you decide to take the course online, we strongly recommend that you also plan to attend the Capitus monthly weekend Cram Course. This will provide you interaction with an instructor and other individuals going through the same program, as well as provide additional preparation for the school and state exams.

What is the Cram Course?

Cram Course is an optional monthly weekend (Saturday and Sunday 9:00 am – 4:30 pm) comprehensive review to prepare you to take the school and state exams. It is not a substitute for the 75-hour Pre-license course and has no educational credit, but it is definitely an excellent, challenging 2 days of quizzes and review of the course materials. The cost is $60.

Aren't all real estate schools the same?

Even though there are a number of real estate schools approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) to offer pre-license courses, they are NOT all the same. Some are for-profit and some, like Capitus Real Estate Learning Center, are not-for-profit. Capitus, which has the distinction of being the oldest provider of real estate education in Georgia, was purchased in 1979 by the Atlanta REALTORS® Association (ARA) and the Atlanta Commercial Board of REALTORS® (ACBR) with the mission to further quality education within the industry. All courses are taught by experienced, knowledgeable, dynamic Instructors. Additionally, Capitus' on-going schedule of pre-license classroom courses and the online course available through the website, www.CapitusLearning.com, provide potential agents with many options of starting dates and times.

Whatever school you choose, it is important that you inquire about the instructors, the school's passing rate on the state exam, and the number of available courses.

If you choose to attend the Capitus classroom course, which costs $449, and are referred by a member company of either ARA or ACBR, you are eligible for a $50 tuition discount.

How do I register for the Salesperson Pre-license course?

For the classroom course, you can register online at www.CapitusLearning.com. However, if you have a $50 discount coupon, you must e-mail, fax, mail, telephone or come to the school to register. We prefer that you get your textbook and begin reading before classes begin. If you want the book shipped to you, you should include an extra $8 in the payment. Books are shipped UPS and a street address is required. UPS will not ship to a post office box.

I want to be in commercial real estate. Is there a separate commercial Salesperson Pre-license course?

No, the 75-hour course curriculum and exam are the same for everyone. If you are interested in commercial real estate, you will want to enroll in a commercially-oriented Post-license course in your first year of being licensed.

License Renewal

I need to renew my real estate license. What is currently required?

  1. Effective July 1, 2015, you are required to have thirty-six (36) hours of continuing education credit to renew your license;
  2. Effective July 1, 2016, the thirty-six (36) hours of continuing education credit to renew your license will have to include at least three (3) hours on the topic of license law; and,
  3. Renewal fee of $125, if you renew by using the GREC online license renewal system at www.grec.state.ga.us., you will receive a $25.00 discount.

Capitus Real Estate Learning Center offers an extensive library of online courses available through the website, www.CapitusLearning.com. Additionally, many residential and commercial continuing education classes are offered every month at The Atlanta REALTORS® Center.

When do I renew my real estate license?

Real estate licenses are renewed every four years, due by the last day of the month of your birthday in the year indicated on your pocket card. You may renew at any time up to four months before the last day of the month of your birthday.

I will not have completed my continuing education hours in time for renewal. Can I get an extension on the renewal due date?

No. Your license will lapse on the first day of the month following the renewal due date and you may not work as a licensee until you have completed the required continuing education. If you have not completed your continuing education, you can still pay your renewal fee and have your license placed on inactive status until you complete the education. This can save you the expense of paying reinstatement fees.

Lapsed License

How do I reinstate a lapsed license?

There are 2 types of lapsed licenses: Lapsed for Education and Lapsed for Fees.

Lapsed for Education

If you fail to complete the 25-hour Post-license course within the first year of licensure, then your license will lapse for education. If you both (a) enroll in and pay for a Post-license course within your first year of licensure, and (b) complete that course within six months of the due date, you may reinstate the license by submitting the following:

  • Reinstate License Lapsed for Post Education application; and,
  • Post-license Course Completion Certificate from an approved school.

The license will be reinstated effective either the postmark date or the received date if faxed, not the date the application was signed by you (if inactive) or the broker (if active). If you failed to meet either condition (a) or (b) and your license has been lapsed for less than 5 years, you must complete a Post-license course and then either submit the application and applicable fee OR retake and pass the state qualifying exam for a Salesperson's license. If reinstating by application, the fee would be $100.00 if submitted within 4 months of the lapse date. This fee increases by $25.00 for each month or portion of a month thereafter. If your license is lapsed for more than 5 years, you must retake the state exam.

Lapsed for Failure to Pay Renewal Fees

If your license has been lapsed for 12 months or less, you may reinstate your license using the online renewal system. If you use the online renewal system, you are given a $25.00 discount for using the system. The renewal fee due that displays on the online renewal has already been reduced by the discount.

If your license has been lapsed for more than 12 months, mail the Reinstate License Lapsed for Fees (due solely to non-payment of fees) along with the proper fee to the GREC. In some cases there may be additional education requirements due. Contact an Information Specialist at GREC for these requirements and the amount due; OR,

You may choose to qualify as an original applicant and retake the state exam. In some cases there may be additional education requirements due. Contact an Information Specialist at GREC for these requirements and the amount due.

Post-license Requirement for Agents Licensed Less Than One Year

You are required to take a 25-hour Post-license course with an exam within one year of when you were licensed. Is it possible to have an extension of time to complete this course?

A 6-month extension of time is available ONLY IF (1) you have BOTH enrolled in and paid for an approved course before the date your license is scheduled to lapse, and (2) you do NOT conduct any brokerage business after the date your license lapses until you have mailed to the GREC the following:

  1. Completed Reinstate License Lapsed for Post Education; and
  2. Completion Certificate for the Post-license course from an approved school.

Where can I take a 25-hour Post-license course?

Post-license course are available in classroom and online formats. Click here for a list of residential and commercial post-license courses. All post-license courses have a written exam and you cannot substitute continuing education course hours for post-license credit.

Reciprocity

Can I get a license in another state by reciprocity?

Yes, in most states. If you are interested in obtaining a license in another state, you should directly contact the regulatory agency in that state for information on their licensing requirements for non-residents.

Code of Ethics

I took a Code of Ethics class several years ago. Do I have to take it again?

The National Association of REALTORS (NAR) requires every REALTOR® to complete 2½ hours of Code of Ethics training every 2 years. This 2-year cycle runs from January 1, 2017 until December 31, 2018. All ARA and ACBR members must complete this Code of Ethics training in order to continue their membership with the Associations. Failure to complete this training is a violation of a membership duty and membership with the Association will be suspended until this course has been completed.

The next Code of Ethics 2-year cycle is January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2020 and all REALTORS® are required to take this training again in this cycle.

Can I renew my real estate license if I haven't taken a Code of Ethics class?

The Georgia Real Estate Commission does not require that you take Code of Ethics classes. Most 3-hour ethics courses are approved by the Commission for continuing education credit but they are only required by NAR for Association membership.

contact us

Hours: 9am-5pm EST Mon-Fri

Administrative Questions:
Capitus Real Estate Learning Center
800-633-3583
404-252-6768
Support@CapitusLearning.com

Course Content Questions:
Karen Loftus
Karen@CapitusLearning.com

Technical Questions:
WebToolset
800-633-3583
404-252-6768
support@georgiarealestate.education